Day: October 11, 2017

Criminal History

In general my life has been very free of crime except that my copy of The Police greatest hits CD has been stolen at least three times. Also one year my car window was smashed multiple times in multiple locations but only when I had a Pixies CD in the car. (This is a trick correlation because I always had a Pixies CD in the car.)

There was one time it seemed like I was about to get mugged but instead I got directions to the train station. Literally, I was on the wrong side of the tracks and didn’t seem to belong around there. I appreciated the help.


Raiff: Were three different copies of the CD stolen or was the same CD stolen three times?

Romie: Three different copies. It would get stolen, I would replace it, and it would get stolen again. I might have undercounted; it happened a lot of times. At this point I think of it as a public service I do for people who think the Police are really catchy but who are for some reason too embarassed to walk up to the counter of a record store with such a poppy collection.

Vengeance Demon at Heart

A pretty common narrative in stories of male misbehavior is that the woman is told to keep it quiet because “do you want to ruin his career? do you want to break up his family?” This is apparently a very effective (and very messed up) way to take some of the best parts of socialized femininity (empathy, concern for community) and warp them into something harmful, which is my least favorite kind of con.

But also it draws my attention to how much of a vengeance demon I am at heart, because yes absolutely I want to ruin his career and break up his family. That’s exactly what I want—it sounds great. I’ve never been sexually assaulted and I’ve never met this guy, but I am basically a tornado in human form. If you’re reading this, I have probably considered breaking up your family and ruining your career at least once and probably right now. I think about doing it to my own self, even. I might actually be one of the Furies.