Jon Ossoff for GA-6

Atlanta Friends: The special election to replace Tom Price in GA-6 is on April 18. It’s in the northern suburbs (Roswell, Dunwoody, Milton, etc.) so y’all probably won’t be voting in it – but you can mobilize to help anybody you DO know in the sixth district, by making sure they have rides to the polls if they need it, childcare if they need it, and/or just calling them on the phone and bugging them relentlessly.

Georgia special elections are notorious for having bad turnout, and it’s going to be a huge pack of people running – 18 of them – so the vote is likely to be pretty split. That means a handful of votes could move a needle enough to make a difference. Pundits think the Democrat with the best odds is Jon Ossoff. He’s looking for volunteers.

His campaign statement:

“I’m running for Congress because I believe we all have to stand up, right now, and fight for progress — for our prosperity and health, our civil rights and civil liberties, and our security.

I was born and raised in Georgia and grew up here in the Sixth District.

Today I lead a company that investigates corrupt politicians and organized crime.

Our team has taken down human traffickers, exposed dozens of corrupt officials around the world, and uncovered atrocities committed by ISIS in Iraq.

Previously I was a senior national security staffer in the U.S. Congress, working with our military and intelligence community to keep Georgians safe while investigating wrongdoing by government contractors.

During five years as a Congressional aide, I learned how to get things done in Washington.

On Capitol Hill and as a journalist, I’ve learned how to expose and fight the abuse of power.

I will use my experience and all of my energy to fight for Georgia.”

Here’s his website.

