When Law and Justice Diverge

If you know something is a human right, it doesn’t matter whether there’s a precedent. “That’s the way it’s always been” describes oppression. It doesn’t legitimize it.

Trailblazers are people who didn’t stop pushing the first time something failed. Or the tenth. Or the millionth. We know the names of some of them; they tend to go in history books. They didn’t settle for prior conditions. They weren’t fooled into thinking “is” means “should be.”

If I’m coming at you with a human right, and you’re coming back with excuses, I’m going to see that for what it is. The only time we need to talk about procedural technicalities is when you’re offering me a tactic to overcome them. Otherwise, you’ve got nothing I need.

Those trailblazers I talked about – whether they were good or evil didn’t have to do with how many rules they broke or followed. It had to do with why.

Law isn’t really rules. It’s philosophy. Get yours straight.


Relatedly, I don’t care whether the rules say Trump is or isn’t allowed to have conflicts of interest, except insofar as it helps me fight against his conflicts of interest, which I oppose becaue they are UNETHICAL. I don’t care whether Trump “can” institute a travel ban except when it helps me stop his travel ban, because it’s CRUEL to people I love.

I’m not a judge; it’s not my job to interpret the laws on the books.
I’m not a legislator; it’s not my job to write new laws.
I’m an everyday American and it’s my job to clearly and consistently push forward my vision of what our society ought to be.

It’s not only morally correct; it’s the only way I’m going to change minds. This country can’t heal by nitpicking about rules and who is better at rules. The conversations that matter right now are about real people who are hurt and frightened and hopeful.

