My Cheer Up Song

“Gobbledigook” is a song that I listen to when I need to relax even though I am in emotional pain. It’s filled that role for me for the past eight years. Maybe it would be helpful for you at this time.

The lyrics are Icelandic, but they’re pretty simple. They’re about the wind as a generally charming prankster, but please don’t turn my umbrella inside out. The repeating line that sounds like “wind in my hair” (Vindur í hárinu) indeed means wind in the hair.

The official video has a lot of scrawny white nonsexual nudity, so if you’re not into that flip to another tab while you listen to the song playing in the background. Or you could buy the album, Sigur Rós’s “Með suð í eyrum við spilum endalaust” (with a buzz in our ears, we play endlessly). It’s a good album.

