Life, Oh Life

As part of my holiday traditions, I watch the Big Fat Quiz of the Year and the Big Fat Quiz of Everything (they’re British and you can find them on YouTube), and as a result I have just now heard the song “Life,” by Des’ree, which apparently has been voted by British people as having the worst lyrics of all time. I think yes probably. It makes me very happy.


Nic says: I’ve never actually registered the words to this song before. Why is it scarier to be in a park after dark, than anywhere else? Are the ghosts in the park?

Romie: It really makes you ponder.

Emily: Because it’s the sight that she fears most? (I’m doing all this from horrified memory.)

Ciro: Disclaimer: DO NOT WATCH IF YOU ARE IN A PARK OR PARK-LIKE AREA


To clarify, I’m not convinced that “Life” dethrones the deranged brilliance of “Snake Eater.” However, I think “Snake Eater” is in its own category and is therefore not part of the competition.

